Oakland Judo

Home » Uncategorized » Shedding a Shell

Shedding a Shell

A great blog entry on applying lessons from life to judo, and back the other way as well. This post is also significant because it addresses issues that may be more pertinent to older judoka.

As a young person learning judo you learn the value of hard work, cooperation, regular practice. You become more self confident, more at ease in the world. As you get older, you may need to learn different lessons.

Enjoy.

andynewazalife

In the past few months I’ve been going through many changes. Not only in life, but also on the mat. But what I’m going to share in this post may change some of your thoughts about your own training and maybe even your own life.

Take from it what you will.

Looking back, it all started with the passing of my aunt. At the immediate moment, it didn’t resonate with me that she was gone. Forever. But over the following few months, it hit me, and dragged me down. The fact that she was gone and that the memories I had of her were the only things I’ll carry with me from now on. The realization that I would never see her again chained itself to me, and made me feel emotionally heavy. This feeling lead to other thoughts, and for the first time that I can remember in my…

View original post 1,170 more words


Leave a Reply

